QC DUI SERVICES LLC

Your Quad Cities DUI Connection

Facilitating the link between the court system and the DUI Process in the State of Illinois.

LEARN MORE

DO I NEED A DUI EVALUATION?

Remember the things you do don’t define who you are, and working through the process that is now in place because of your DUI arrest can help you change the way you do things for the better. The State of Illinois requires a DUI evaluation before a case for DUI can be closed and QC DUI SERVICES offers services to those who have been arrested for DUI. DUI evaluations and 10 Hours of Risk Education and 12 Hour Early Intervention are offered at this location with referrals to outside agencies for further treatment. We also have financial assistance is available for those who qualify.


Sometimes we are able to plan our lives very effectively. At other times, we are not as efficient. For these reasons, we offer DUI evaluations to be completed in one day. At times you will not be able to obtain all the necessary documents before your appointment. That’s okay, keep your appointment and get the evaluation process started. Remember though, you only have 30 days from the start of the evaluation to submit the remaining documents so we can finish it.


You will need to bring these documents to your appointment, or have your attorney send them to us.

Statutory Summary Suspension – This is typically given to you the day of your arrest, and is on thin white paper (like tracing paper). If you were in an accident or provided a blood or urine sample for the police, you may not have this document yet. In these situations, you can often bring your police report providing it has the date and time of arrest, BAC if you completed the test, or documentation that you refused to provide a breath, blood, or urine.

Driving Abstract for Court Purposes – This is obtained from the Illinois Drivers Facility (Dept. of Motor Vehicles). There is a $12 charge for this document and you must go to the facility with identification to obtain it. They have a form there you can fill out if you need someone else to get this document for you. You cannot use a driving record you get online or from the court.

DUI evaluation appointments generally last about 90 minutes. When the evaluation is completed, you will receive two copies so you can keep one and give the other to your attorney.


Consequences for Being Arrested for a DUI in Illinois

All 50 states define driving under the influence (DUI) as getting behind the wheel with a recorded blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. Each state defines the penalties associated with a DUI differently.

In the state of Illinois, a DUI arrest can land you in jail, and/or seriously impact your right to drive legally. If your license is suspended, you will usually pay a reinstatement fee and take some education classes.

Once you send in your fee and receive notification from the Secretary of State that your driving privileges have been reinstated, you are good to go.

At this point any court requirements still outstanding need to be completed, but do not keep you from driving.

If, on the other hand, your driving privileges have been revoked, the process changes. 


People who have had their driving privileges revoked must:

1. Undergo a DUI Evaluation,

2. Complete any recommended treatment, and

3. Schedule a hearing with a Secretary of State Hearing Officer.


Governing Illinois Statute Requiring a DUI Evaluation

The statute that requires the evaluation is in the Illinois Vehicle Code at 625 ILCS 5/11-501.01(a). It reads:

After a finding of guilt and prior to any final sentencing or an order for supervision, for an offense based upon an arrest for a violation of Section 11-501 or a similar provision of a local ordinance, individuals shall be required to undergo a professional evaluation to determine if an alcohol, drug, or intoxicating compound abuse problem exists and the extent of the problem and undergo the imposition of treatment as appropriate.

DUI EVALUATION AND DUI RISK EDUCATION

DUI Evaluation

The state of Illinois takes DUI offenses very seriously. In fact, driving under the influence is one of two offenses in Illinois that mandates an offender undergo an evaluation prior to sentencing.


The other offense mandating evaluation is a felony sex offense.


The purpose of a DUI evaluation is to determine whether you pose a risk to public safety with your alcohol and/or drug use. The evaluation is used by the Secretary of State License Reinstatement, and in some cases by the court, as a sentencing tool. Note that the statute requires both an evaluation and recommendations for treatment that results from the evaluation.


During the evaluation, one of our counselors/examiners interviews the defendant specifically about his or her alcohol and drug use, both past and present. If appropriate, the person’s partner is also interviewed.

The interview consists of a counselor collecting information about:

1. Client’s demographic information

2. Most recent DUI arrest in detail

Prior drug and alcohol-related offenses, including supervisions and convictions for a DUI

3. Specific questions about other substance-related arrests, including zero tolerance, illegal transportation, and other arrests for substance abuse

4. Detailed alcohol/drug abuse history, including alcohol, legal drugs, and prescription medications. Includes significant other interview and prior treatment program completion relevant to the current case

5. Questionnaire information and summary of the findings

6. Summary of evaluation and clinical findings

7. Assignment of risk levels


Purpose of DUI Evaluation

The evaluation is meant to determine if the substance use history of the person arrested for DUI creates a risk to public safety.

As a result of the DUI Evaluation and risk levels, recommendations are assigned as follows:


Minimal risk – 10 hours of DUI Risk Education

 Moderate risk– 10 hours DUI Risk Education followed by 12 hours of early intervention. Early intervention is provided over a minimum of four weeks. There can be only one day of classes each week and no more than three hours in that day. In addition, if recommended by the evaluation, the defendant will be required to participate in an on-going continuing care plan.3. 


Significant risk – 10 hours DUI Risk Education followed by 20 hours of substance abuse treatment. Mandatory participation in a continuing care plan.


High risk – 75 hours of substance abuse treatment and after completion, and mandatory participation in a continuing care plan.


Drug and alcohol treatment requirements and education requirements are dependent upon the risk level classification assigned and often must be completed in order for reinstatement of driving privileges and could require alcohol counseling.

However, though evaluation sets the number of hours required, and what kind of out- or in-patient care should be mandated, the presiding judge has discretion with respect to the recommended amount of treatment.


The bottom line is that the defendant must complete the treatment recommended in the Alcohol and Drug Uniform Report to satisfy the statutory requirement (11-501.01(a)to “undergo the imposition of treatment as appropriate.”


DUI 10 Hours Risk Education

Risk Education consists of four 2 ½ hour classes that are held every Wednesday at the Rock Island Office from 6:00 pm - 8:30pm. Saturday classes are also held periodically. You must start on class number one and attend every week for the next three weeks.

To attend the class you need to bring a copy of your DUI Evaluation, if you did not complete it with us and the fee for the program.

This evaluation will determine what level of care you need, to help you avoid being in that situation again. There are four different categories of recommendations that result from an evaluation.


THE PROCESS OF LICENSE REINSTATEMENT

Statutory Summary Suspension

Driving privileges may be reinstated at the end of the statutory summary suspension period unless the court instructs the Secretary of State's office otherwise. Before driving privileges can be reinstated:

Other suspensions or revocations on the driving record must be closed.

A $250 reinstatement fee must be paid to the Secretary of State, $30 of which goes to the Department of Human Services, Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse, to help defray the cost of professional alcohol/drug evaluations for indigent offenders.

If a repeat offender, a $500 reinstatement fee must be paid to the Secretary of State, which $60 of which goes to the Illinois Road fund, $190 to the Drunk and Drugged Driving Prevention Fund, and $250 to the General Revenue Fund.

Reinstatement of a statutory summary suspension becomes valid when it is entered on the driver's record in the Secretary of State's office provided the provisional termination date has passed.

Payment for reinstatement fee must be mailed to:

Secretary of State

DUI Section

2701 S. Dirksen Pkwy.

Springfield, Il 62723.

If paying by credit card, please call 217-782-3619 (debit cards not accepted).

Revocation


To have driving privileges reinstated, a driver convicted of DUI must:

Have a clear driving record

Undergo an alcohol/drug evaluation. If an alcohol/drug problem is indicated, proof of treatment must be submitted

Complete an alcohol/drug remedial education program. Even if the evaluation does not recommend treatment; the driver is still required to complete a remedial education program.

Appear before a Secretary of State hearing officer. For a first offense, an informal hearing may be conducted by visiting a hearing officer at one of the regional Driver Services facilities. Multiple offenders must request in writing, pay a $50 nonrefundable filing fee and attend a formal hearing in Chicago, Springfield, Mt. Vernon or Joliet.

Demonstrate during the hearing that public safety will not be endangered if driving privileges are restored. The hearing officer considers the seriousness of the offense, the offender's overall driving record and the driver's remedial efforts.

File proof of financial responsibility prior to reinstatement, pay $500 reinstatement fee, pass the driver's license exam (written, vision and driving) and pay application fee.

Payment or revocation must be mailed to:

Secretary of State

Traffic Violations Section

2701 S. Dirksen Pkwy.

Springfield, Il 62723.

If paying by credit card, please call 217-782-3619 (debit cards not accepted).

An offender requesting a formal hearing for reinstatement of his/her driving privileges must pay a $50 nonrefundable filing fee when requestion the formal hearing.

A reinstatement becomes valid when it is entered on the driver's record in the Secretary of State's office.

0